Khan Academy   |   Powerschool GoGuardian Naviance Aimsweb Semstracker EdReflect SchoolDude Virtual Paragon Frontline Alio Service Portal

It’s Trophy Time: The Academy Awards

On Sunday, February 24th the 85th annual Academy Awards were kicked off by host Seth McFarland, a comedian and creator of the popular show Family Guy.

Arguably the most prestigious award of the night-Best Picture, went to Argo, directed and produced by Ben Affleck. After a huge snub by the Academy when Affleck was not nominated for a Best Director award, this victory was, to many, the defining moment in his directing career despite him not being nominated.

That night was a night of firsts. Daniel Day Lewis became the only actor ever to win three awards for Best Actor. And Jennifer Lawrence took home the award for Best Actress, the second youngest person to ever win the award. Quvenzhane Wallis, a nine-year-old, was the youngest person ever to be nominated for Best Actress for her role in Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Anne Hathaway won Best Supporting Actress for her role as Fantine in Les Miserables, and Christoph Waltz took home Best Supporting actor for his role in Django Unchained.

Best Animated feature went to Brave, and Best Animated Short Film went to Paperman.  Searching For Sugarman won for best Documentary, and Amour won for Best Foreign Language Film.

Life of Pi won the most awards of the night with a total of four, closely followed by Les Miserables and Argo with three awards, and Django Unchained, Lincoln, and Skyfall, all won two awards each.

Upcoming movies to look forward to in 2013 are: Oz the Great and Powerful by Walt Disney Pictures, Jack the Giant Slayer by Warner Bros./New Line Cinema, The Croods by 20th Century Fox/Dreamworks animation, Iron Man 3 by Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Pictures, and The Great Gatsby by Warner Bros.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: